• Center for Leadership

  • Center for Leadership Staff

    David Schmiesing was appointed as vice president of Student Life in September 2006. Mr. Schmiesing graduated summa cum laude from Franciscan University in 1992 with a BA in history and a minor in mathematics. That same year he earned an Ohio secondary teaching certificate. In 1999, he completed an MS in education at Franciscan University. He has served Franciscan University in a variety of leadership positions, most notably as associate director of Conferences (1997), director of Business Services (1998-2002), and associate dean of Student Development (2002-2006). He has a long history of involvement with students, overseeing student leadership development and other programs that promote involvement in campus life and social and spiritual development. Mr. Schmiesing also serves as the director of the Franciscan University Center for Leadership.

    Dr. Joshua Miller has devoted his professional career to helping persons understand and develop their unique giftedness. His primary role in the Center for Leadership is to facilitate the freshman year program, which focuses on personal vocation as a foundation for Christ-centered leadership, and to serve as a mentor for students throughout the four-year program. Dr. Miller holds an MA in philosophy from Franciscan University of Steubenville and a PhD in philosophy from Duquesne University. Dr. Miller is a professional coach and provides executive search as well as talent management for leaders of not-for-profit organizations. He draws on both his academic and professional services background in his work with the Center for Leadership.

    Ronald J. McNamara serves as coordinator of Student Leadership Development at Franciscan University of Steubenville, drawing on his extensive public policy and diplomatic experience in Washington, D.C., Vienna, Austria, and throughout Eastern Europe. A graduate of The George Washington University, with a BA in political science, Mr. McNamara held numerous leadership and supervisory positions during his career in public service on Capitol Hill, which spanned over three decades.

    Center for Leadership Board of Advisors

    • The Hon. Jeff Fortenberry MA ’96, U.S. House of Representatives, Nebraska-1
    • Father Jonathan Morris, FOX News Analyst
    • Kathryn Jean Lopez, Editor, National Review Online
    • Frank J. Hanna III, Chief Executive Officer, Hanna Capital LLC
    • Barbara Henkels, Founder, Regina Academies
    • Father Robert Sirico, President, Acton Institute
FacebookTwitterFlickr LogoYouTube Logorss icons
MyFranciscan - Click here


Get Connected Picture  

for Future:

Click here to log in
Click here to get help
Contact Us | Campus E-mail | Directions | Search | CALENDARS | Privacy Policy | MYFranciscan  | Nondiscrimination Statement

1235 University Blvd, Steubenville, Ohio 43952 | Main 740-283-3771 | Consumer Information © Franciscan University of Steubenville