68th Annual Founders' Award Dinner | Franciscan University of Steubenville
  • 68th Annual Founders' Award Dinner

    Three influential Professors to Be Honored 

    Dr. Floyd L. Cogley Jr. and Dr. Mary Lucille Smith, retired professors of education, and Dr. Mary F. Salter ’70, retired mathematics professor, will be honored at Franciscan University’s 68th Annual Founders’ Association Dinner on Saturday, December 2. All three awardees were influential in developing the flourishing education and mathematics departments at Franciscan University of Steubenville over five decades. 


    Cogley came to the University, then the College of Steubenville, as an assistant professor of education in 1970. As director of elementary education, Cogley directed the successful start of both the early experience and special education programs, which are now key components of the University’s education program. He eventually took a leadership position as a national trainer for Performance Learning Systems and trained graduate students in elementary and secondary education at universities across the country. Cogley remained active with Franciscan through the University’s Creative Cornerstones program, which he founded in 1973 and co-directed with Dr. James Anderson until 2015. 


    Smith was hired as an assistant professor of education by Father Michael Scanlan, TOR, in 1969 and became a professor of education after receiving her doctorate in 1993. Beginning in 2003, Smith helped steer Franciscan’s graduate program toward online learning, developing online education classes that became the forerunners to many of the University’s online graduate programs. During her last 12 years at the University, Smith served as program coordinator for the Education Department and secured national licensing accreditation for seven teaching specialties, including intervention specialist and early childhood. 


    Salter first came to the College of Steubenville as an undergraduate mathematics student in the late 1960s. In 1978, she returned as an assistant professor in that same program. Salter helped develop the University’s Computer Science Program during a time when few universities offered the major. During the advent of the personal computer in the 1980s, Salter used her knowledge of programing to help lead the installation of the University’s first administrative computing system. 

    University Founders’ Scholarships will also be awarded at the event to Franciscan University students Mary McGovern, an English major who graduated from Toronto High School; Elizabeth Bennette, a social work major from Steubenville; and Alanna Marshall, a social work major who graduated from Steubenville Catholic Central. 


    The Rose M. DeFede Women’s Guild Scholarship will be awarded to: Sharon Orndorff, a theology major who graduated from Piper High School, Kansas; Lauren Gubinski, a nursing major who graduated from Kingston High School, Kentucky; Sonya McLoyd, an education major who graduated from Johnstown Senior High School, Pennsylvania; and Natia Smith, an English and education major who graduated from Steubenville High School. 


    The Dr. Patricia Fletcher Scholarship will be awarded to Tammy Aggers, a graduate education major who has an undergraduate degree from West Liberty University.

    The Academy of Lifelong Learning Award recipient will be Stacy Hooper, a graduate education major who has an undergraduate degree from West Liberty University.


    The Founders' Association Dinner was established in 1949 by Father Daniel Egan, TOR, the first president of the College of Steubenville, to draw the College and civic communities together. The Founders’ Award was established in 1978 to recognize outstanding contributions of men, women, and organizations to Franciscan University of Steubenville and the local community. 


    To make your reservation or make a scholarship donation, call Franciscan University's Community Relations Office at 740-283-6406 by November 20.

Academically Excellent Passionately Catholic

1235 University Boulevard

Steubenville, Ohio 43952

(740) 283-3771


Franciscan University of Steubenville is no ordinary university, and a Franciscan education is no ordinary education. Rather, it's an education as rigorous and demanding as it is faithful--an education that challenges you intellectually, forms you professionally, and feeds you spiritually.


You can help Franciscan lead the way in providing a faithfully Catholic education!