Faculty Honored for Excellence, Years of Service | Franciscan University of Steubenville
  • Faculty Honored for Excellence, Years of Service

    Awards given for teaching, scholarship, and service

    Franciscan University President Father Sean O. Sheridan, TOR, with Dr. Eric Haenni, Dr. Kathleen Spinnenweber, and Dr. John Bergsma.

    January 29, 2019

    STEUBENVILLE, OH—Franciscan University of Steubenville recognized 11 professors at the Faculty Awards Ceremony, January 25—8 for years of service and 3 for excellence in teaching, scholarship, and service. The awards were presented by University President Father Sean O. Sheridan, TOR.

    Dr. Kathleen Spinnenweber, professor of Spanish, received the Faculty Award for Teaching. Spinnenweber provides an inspiring and challenging classroom environment for her students to learn and master the Spanish language, and uses art and other visual images to foster linguistic, literary, and cultural literacy in her students.

    Dr. John Bergsma, theology professor, author, and speaker, received the Faculty Award for Scholarship. In the past two years, Bersgma has been especially prolific, having published A Catholic Introduction to the Bible: The Old Testament (with Dr. Brant Pitre), Psalm Basics for Catholics: Seeing Salvation History in a New Way, and Yes! There Is a God! And Other Answers to Life’s Big Questions, which he views as his most important work because it presents a compelling Catholic worldview in an easy to remember format.

    Dr. Eric Haenni, associate professor of biology and NCAA faculty representative, received the Faculty Award for Service. Known as the voice of Baron athletics as announcer for Baron basketball games, Haenni was recognized for his tireless service on behalf of students, both in athletics and in the classroom. He serves on the Personal Vocation Task Force, mentors students in the Center for Leadership Program, and coordinates the Pre-Health Professional Program that introduce students to careers available in the science and medical professions.

    Eight faculty members were also recognized for their legacy of service to Franciscan University.

    Dr. Thomas Kelly, chair, Department of Accounting, Business Administration, and Economics; Dr. Kevin Miller, Theology Department; Sister M. Johanna Paruch, FSGM, PhD, Catechetics Department; and Dr. John Perozich, Biology Department, were honored for 20 years of service.

    Dr. Joseph Almeida, chair, Department of Classics, director, Great Books Honors Program; Dr. Kimberly Georgedes, History Department; and Dr. Michael Welker, Economics Department, were honored for 25 years of service.

    Dr. Wayne Lewis, Communications Department, was honored for 30 years of service.

Academically Excellent Passionately Catholic

1235 University Boulevard

Steubenville, Ohio 43952

(740) 283-3771


Franciscan University of Steubenville is no ordinary university, and a Franciscan education is no ordinary education. Rather, it's an education as rigorous and demanding as it is faithful--an education that challenges you intellectually, forms you professionally, and feeds you spiritually.


You can help Franciscan lead the way in providing a faithfully Catholic education!